A classic with a new spirit

The Gin of Hansi Schnee­berger


The noble spirit is a real classic which is being discovered by a young generation right now. Gin offers a great variety not only to those who love to drink it, but also to those who produce it. Because juniper berries are not the only ingredients you need to produce great gin.
  • The Gin
  • “Actually, gin is a deeply democratic product: everyone who has access to botanicals can manufacture it.“
    Hansi
  • Order Gin
    Online
  • Drinks with Gin
  • “Our business has been run since the second half of the 19th century, more precisely, since 1870. The first Schneeberger first had a farm and a bit of wine besides.“
    Hansi
  • “Styria is a great area for gin, since it’s an area of wine and culinary delights and our people really know what they are talking about when it comes to fine food and drinks.“
    Hansi

A winemaker walking a new path

Gin from
Styria


A ctually, Hansi has distilled spirits for quite some time. When gin culture started developing, his interested started developing alike. His path to gin was not a long one, actually. But still it took two years to fill the first bottles. A significant role played a trip with his wife Sarina to Australia, where they celebrated New Year's Eve in a gin bar.
Whether your focus on garnish or the offered sorts of gin: this was paradise. The gin they liked best they tried is made on Kangaroo Island. As this is only a half-hour drive from Adelaide plus a short crossing by ferry, they went there spontaneously. There they met a typically laid-back Aussie who had started producing gin in his garage and has turned this to quite some business. He inspired Hansi to just try that out himself.

From the vineyards and the cellar

News from the Schneeberger family


Which wines have become especially interesting this year? At which events are you quite likely to meet one Schneeberger or the other? And what is this new idea Junior has created about? Here you can learn this and so much more.

See all our news

For almost 150 years

Tradition
& Family


F or almost 150 years the Schneeberger family has dealt with agriculture and viticulture. Every member of the family fulfils a role. The work they do together is based on respect and trust. Well, the Schneeberger family does not only produce gin. They have made a lot of effort in the past few decades to achieve new levels of viticulture in Styria. Their busines is one of the largest in their region, their Buschenschank – a wine tavern where they do not only serve their wines and spirits, but also home-made Styrian specialities in terms of food – is widely known and popular.

Mixed in many ways

How do you drink gin?


Once upon a time, one drank tonic water in order to make use of the quinine to protect oneself from malaria. It only took some time until a clever epicure started adding gin to improve the taste. Nowadays, this delicious drink is most probably mixed in more ways than any other spirit.

Show all recipes for drinks with gin
  • Martini
    4 parts gin
    1 part vermouth
    some ice
    shaken or stirred
    lemon zest
  • Gin Tonic
    1 part gin
    3 parts tonic water
    ice cubes
  • Negroni
    3 parts gin
    3 parts Campari
    3 parts vermouth (rosso)
    ice cubes

And here you get our Styrian gin

Buy Gin Online

You do not need to go to the south of Styria immediately in order to shop Hansi's gin – although the Schneeberger family and their Buschenschank are always worth a visit. In the online shop you can order the Styrian spirit very easily, too. Besides, there are so many more nice things you can discover there.

To the Online Shop
  • Contact

    Winery & Styrian Wine Cellar
    Johann Schneeberger GmbH

    Pernitschstraße 31
    A-8451 Heimschuh

    +43 3452 83934
    schneeberger.weine@aon.at
    www.weingut-schneeberger.at

  • Your Enquiry

Ein Klassiker neu endeckt

Der Gin vom Hansi Schnee­berger


Die edle Spirituose ist ein Klassiker, der gerade von einer jungen Generation für sich neu entdeckt wird. Vielfalt bietet Gin nicht nur den Konsumenten, sondern auch den Produzenten. Denn Wacholder allein macht noch keinen guten Gin aus.
  • Der Gin
  • „Gin ist eigentlich ein zutiefst demokratisches Produkt. Jeder, der Zugang zu den Botanicals hat, kann das herstellen.“
    Der Hansi
  • Der Hansi
  • Gin online
    bestellen
  • Ginrezepte
  • „Unseren Betrieb gibt es seit der zweiten Hälfte des 19. Jahrhunderts, in unserem Fall seit 1870. Der erste Schneeberger hatte zuerst eine Landwirtschaft und ein bisschen Wein nebenbei.“
    Der Hansi
  • „Die Steiermark eine gute Gin-Region. Weil sie eine Wein- und Genussregion ist und die Leute bei uns was vom Essen und Trinken verstehen.“
    Der Hansi

Ein Weinbauer auf neuen Wegen

Gin aus der
Steiermark


S chnaps destilliert hat der Hansi eigentlich schon lange. Mit dem Aufkommen der Gin-Kultur hat ihn das zunehmend interessiert. Der Weg zum Gin war eigentlich nicht weit. Aber von der ersten Idee bis zur ersten abgefüllten Flasche hat es dann doch zwei Jahre gedauert. Entscheidend war eine Reise mit seiner Frau Sarina nach Australien, wo in einer Gin-Bar Silvester gefeiert wurde.
Von der Garnierung bis zu den angebotenen Sorten war das ein echtes Paradies. Der Gin, der ihnen am besten geschmeckt hat, kam von Kangaroo Island. Von Adelaide aus ist das eine halbe Stunde Autofahrt, dann mit der Fähre, also sind sie kurz entschlossen hin. Dort erwartete sie ein typisch entspannter Australier, der in der Garage begonnen hatte, Gin zu machen und daraus einen ordentlichen Betrieb machte. Durch ihn wurde Hansi bestärkt, das auch einfach mal zu probieren.

Aus dem Weinberg und dem Keller

Neues von der Familie Schneeberger


Welche Sorten sind heuer besonders interessant geworden? Bei welchen Veranstaltungen trifft man den einen oder anderen Schneeberger demnächst? Und was hat sich der Junior da wieder ausgedacht? Das und vieles mehr erfahren Sie hier.

Alle News ansehen

Seit beinahe 150 Jahren

Tradition
& Familie


S eit beinahe 150 Jahren beschäftigen sich die Schneebergers mit Landwirtschaft und Weinbau. Jede und jeder in der Familie hat seine Funktion. Die gemeinsame Arbeit ist durch Respekt und Vertrauen geprägt Die Schneebergers machen eben nicht nur Gin. Die Familie hat durch viel Fleiß in den vergangenen Jahrzehnten neue Dimensionen im steirischen Weinbau erreicht. Ihr Betrieb gehört zu den größten in der Region, die Buschenschank ist weithin bekannt und beliebt. .

Facettenreich gemixt

Wie trinkt man Gin?


Einst nahm man Tonic zu sich, um durch das Chinin vor Malaria geschützt zu sein. Bald mischte ein schlauer Genießer Gin dazu, um den Geschmack zu verbessern. Heute wird der Wacholderbrand so facettenreich gemixt wie kaum ein zweites Destillat.

Alle Ginrezepte ansehen
  • Martini
    4 Teile Gin
    1 Teil Wermut
    etwas Eis
    geschüttelt oder gerührt
    mit einer Zitronenschale
  • Gin Tonic
    1 Teil Gin
    3 Teile Tonic Water
    Eiswürfel
  • Negroni
    3 Teile Gin, 3 Teile Campari
    3 Teile Wermut (Rosso)
    Eiswürfel

Und hier gibt's den steirischen Gin

Gin online kaufen

Um den Gin vom Hansi zu kaufen, muss man nicht sofort in die Südsteiermark fahren, auch wenn ein Besuch bei der Familie Schneeberger immer lohnt. Man kann sich das steirische Destillat auch ganz einfach hier im Olineshop bestellen. Außerdem gibt es dort auch noch andere feine Sachen zu entdecken.

in den Onlineshop
  • Kontakt

    Weingut & Steirische Kellerei
    Johann Schneeberger GmbH

    Pernitschstraße 31
    A-8451 Heimschuh

    +43 3452 83934
    schneeberger.weine@aon.at
    www.weingut-schneeberger.at

  • Ihre Anfrage